Faculty and donors celebrated at Department of Medicine 2022 Investiture Ceremony

Department of Medicine faculty posing next to a Department of Medicine banner.

On Friday, September 16, fourteen Department of Medicine faculty were honored with endowed professorships, fellowships, or chairs at the department’s 2022 Investiture Ceremony, held on campus in the Health Sciences Learning Center.

Department Chair and George R. and Elaine Love Professor Lynn Schnapp, MD, welcomed attendees. “Every day,” Dr Schnapp said, “[Our faculty] are working to make healthcare better through their clinical practice, through top-ranked research programs and by teaching the next generation of physicians.”

However, she noted, much of this work would not be possible without the patients and partners who give philanthropically to endow faculty positions. “I’m inspired by your generosity and support,” she said. “It’s truly what makes Wisconsin special.”

Following Dr. Schnapp, Robert N. Golden, MD, dean of the School of Medicine and Public Health (SMPH), highlighted how endowments make an impact over time. He added that the value of named positions in the department goes far beyond the individual faculty or donors associated with them: they enhance school-wide recruitment, recognition and retention. 

New Endowments

Three faculty were assigned to newly endowed positions:

  • Elizabeth “Betsy” Trowbridge, MD, clinical professor and division chief, General Internal Medicine – Kenneth D. Skaar, MD, Chair of Primary Care
  • Timothy Kamp, MD, PhD, professor, Cardiovascular Medicine – Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Research Professor
  • Sumona Saha, MD, MS, associate professor (CHS), Gastroenterology and Hepatology – Judy and Sal Troia Faculty Fellow in Inflammatory Bowel Disease Leadership

Doctors Betsy Trowbridge, MD, and Kelly Lavin, MD, pose with certificates recognizing their endowed positions.

Above: Betsy Trowbridge, MD, (left) and Kelly Lavin, MD (right). (Photo credit: Clint Thayer/Department of Medicine.)

New Assignments

Four existing endowed positions received new holders:

  • Kelly Lavin, MD, associate clinical professor, General Internal Medicine – Phillip August and Sarah Neely Herrmann Professor in General Internal Medicine
  • Kari Wisinski, MD, professor (CHS) and division chief, Hematology, Medical Oncology and Palliative Care – Endowed Professor of Hematology and Oncology
  • Megan Piper, PhD, professor, General Internal Medicine, and Danielle McCarthy, PhD, professor, General Internal Medicine – University of Wisconsin Chairs for Tobacco Research and Intervention Research Professors
  • Anne O’Connor, MD, associate professor (CHS) and senior associate chief for clinical affairs, Cardiovascular Medicine – Dr. Herman and Ailene Tuchman Chair in Clinical Cardiology
  • Timothy Baker, PhD, professor emeritus, General Internal Medicine – Glaxo Wellcome Chair for the Study of Tobacco Dependence


Five faculty with existing endowed positions received renewals for another five years, in testament to their outstanding accomplishments in research, teaching and leadership:

  • James Stein, MD, professor and vice chair for faculty development, Cardiovascular Medicine – Robert Turell Professor in Cardiovascular Research
  • Sanjay Asthana, MD, professor and division chief, Geriatrics and Gerontology – Duncan G. and Lottie H. Ballantine Geriatric Professor
  • Vincent Cryns, MD, professor and division chief, Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism – Marian A. and Rodney P. Bergenske Chair in Diabetes Research
  • Toby Campbell, MD, MS, professor and division chief, Hematology, Medical Oncology and Palliative Care – Ellen and Peter O. Johnson Chair in Palliative Care
  • Mohamed Hamdan, MD, MBA, professor and division chief, Cardiovascular Medicine – Mildred and Marv Conney Chair in Cardiology

Department Chair Lynn Schnapp, MD, and Vincent Cryns, MD, share their love of UW.

Above: Department Chair Lynn Schnapp, MD, (right) and Vincent Cryns, MD, (left) share their love of UW. Credit: Clint Thayer/Department of Medicine.

Banner, from left: Megan Piper, PhD; Betsy Towbridge, MD; Jim Stein, MD; Lynn Schnapp, MD; Danielle McCarthy, PhD; Timothy Kamp, MD, PhD; Kari Wisinski, MD; Sumona Saha, MD, MS; Kelly Lavin, MD; and Vincent Cryns, MD. Credit: Clint Thayer/Department of Medicine.