Department of Medicine announces winners of Inaugural Cultivating Multidisciplinary Science Award

Dept of Medicine

Two sets of investigators are the first recipients of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Medicine's inaugural Cultivating Multidisciplinary Science Award. 

These $100,000 awards support investigator groups interested in developing multidisciplinary program project or center proposals, enabling them to collect preliminary data, develop the team and foster collaboration among PIs and key personnel—with the goal of submitting a large grant for federal funding. 

The collaborative teams must include members from:

  1. at least two divisions within the Department of Medicine, or
  2. the Department of Medicine and another department at UW-Madison.

William Busse, MD Barbara Bendlin, PhD Melissa Rosenkranz, PhD

Above, William Busse, MD, professor, Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine; Barbara Bendlin, PhD, associate professor, Geriatrics and Gerontology; and Melissa Rosenkranz, PhD, assistant professor, Psychiatry, and Distinguished Chair in Contemplative Neuroscience, UW-Madison Center for Healthy Minds; received an award for their project, "Asthma as a Risk Factor for Alzheimer’s Disease.”

Dawn Davis, MD, PhD Troy Horberger, PhD Dudley Lamming, PhD

Above, Dawn Davis, MD, PhD, associate professor, Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism; Troy Hornberger, PhD, professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences, UW School of Veterinary Medicine; and Dudley Lamming, PhD, assistant professor, Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism; received an award for their project, "Enhancing the Mouse Metabolic Phenotyping Core in Support of the UW-Madison Diabetes Research Center."

Congratulations to the winners!