76 Department of Medicine faculty members named to Best Doctors in America 2017-2018 list

Best Doctors in America - Wisconsin

Seventy-six current and former faculty members in the Department of Medicine have been named to the Best Doctors in America® List for 2017-2018.

The Best Doctors in America List comprises four percent of physicians in the US. It is developed through a peer recommendation system in which current physician list members respond to the question, "If you or a loved one needed a doctor in your specialty, to whom would you refer?" Best Doctors, Inc. evaluates the review results and verifies all additional information to meet detailed inclusion criteria.

The list is audited and certified by auditors with Gallup, Inc. Best Doctors, which was recently acquired by Telladoc, Inc., works with expert physicians from the list to offer consultation services to 30 million members worldwide who are employed by subscribing companies or organizations.

Department of Medicine Faculty Members - 2017-18 Best Doctors in America List

Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

  • Dr. Robert F. Lemanske, Jr.
  • Dr. Douglas B. Coursin
  • Dr. William Ehlenbach
  • Dr. Nizar N. Jarjour
  • Dr. Kenneth Casey

Cardiovascular Medicine

  • Dr. Ford Ballantyne III
  • Dr. Steven M. Ewer
  • Dr. Michael Field
  • Dr. Giorgio Gimelli
  • Dr. Mohamed Hamdan
  • Dr. Craig T. January
  • Dr. Heather Johnson
  • Dr. Maryl R. Johnson
  • Dr. Douglas E. Kopp
  • Dr. Richard L. Page
  • Dr. Peter S. Rahko
  • Dr. Amish N. Raval
  • Dr. James Howard Stein
  • Dr. Charles Stone

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

  • Dr. Vincent Cryns
  • Dr. Diane Elson

Gastroenterology and Hepatology

  • Dr. Patrick Raymond Pfau
  • Dr. Mark Reichelderfer
  • Dr. Arnold Wald
  • Dr. Michael R. Lucey
  • Dr. Adnan Said

General Internal Medicine

  • Dr. Michael C. Fiore
  • Dr. Joan Addington-White
  • Dr. Lorna Belsky
  • Dr. Deborah Boushea
  • Dr. Juanita Halls
  • Dr. Peter B. Idsvoog
  • Dr. Lisa M. Kaufman
  • Dr. Peter D. Newcomer
  • Dr. Marion Eugene Pruitt
  • Dr. Pamela Ryan
  • Dr. Ann Marie Schmidt
  • Dr. Christine S. Seibert
  • Dr. Jeremy P. Smith
  • Dr. Elizabeth R. Trowbridge
  • Dr. Scott R. Wilson
  • Dr. Laura Jean Zakowski
  • Dr. James M. Sosman

Geriatrics and Gerontology

  • Dr. Sanjay Asthana
  • Dr. Steven R. Barczi
  • Dr. Neil C. Binkley
  • Dr. Elizabeth N. Chapman
  • Dr. Robert J. Przybelski
  • Dr. Kathleen E. Walsh

Hematology, Medical Oncology and Palliative Care

  • Dr. Mark R. Albertini
  • Dr. Howard H. Bailey
  • Dr. Mark E. Burkard
  • Dr. Natalie Scott Callander
  • Dr. Toby C. Campbell
  • Dr. Dustin A. Deming
  • Dr. Mark Juckett
  • Dr. Glenn Liu
  • Dr. Walter L. Longo
  • Dr. Sam J. Lubner
  • Dr. Douglas Gordon McNeel
  • Dr. Daniel L. Mulkerin
  • Dr. Ruth O'Regan
  • Dr. H. Ian Robins
  • Dr. Eliot C. Williams III

Hospital Medicine

  • Dr. Ann Sheehy

Infectious Disease

  • Dr. David R. Andes
  • Dr. Christopher Crnich
  • Dr. Barry C. Fox
  • Dr. Gregory Gauthier
  • Dr. Dennis G. Maki
  • Dr. Nasia Safdar
  • Dr. Bennett Vogelman


  • Dr. Micah R. Chan
  • Dr. Arjang (Aji) Djamali
  • Dr. Alexander Yevzlin


  • Dr. Kevin McKown


Photo credit: Clint Thayer/Department of Medicine